8 N.J. counties can apply for Sandy relief from FEMA

    The hardest-hit counties in New Jersey can begin submitting applications to FEMA for relief from Hurricane Sandy.

    Atlantic, Cape May, Essex, Hudson, Middlesex, Monmouth, Ocean and Union counties can apply for disaster relieft despite the fact that the Federal Emergency Management Agency has not yet set up an office in the state, according to the Star-Ledger.Relief funding can help with rental payments for temporary housing, home repair grants, essential items replacement and unemployment payments for those who lost jobs because of the storm.

    Applications can be made at (800) 621-3362 or online.

    • WHYY thanks our sponsors — become a WHYY sponsor

    Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

    Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal