UPDATED: DNC speakers list a who’s who of high-profile Democrats

Leah Daughtry

Leah Daughtry

Here’s a list of next week’s speakers you can look forward to hearing, heckling, and (hopefully) meme-ing.

As we close the book on #RNCinCLE16 we leave behind Donald Trump’s Thursday night acceptance speech; Ted Cruz’s unleashed moment trumping running mate Mike Pence; and of course, the flap over Melania Trump’s speech. But we look forward to next week, here in Philadelphia, at the Democratic National Convention.

Here’s a list of speakers you can look forward to hearing, heckling, and (hopefully) meme-ing.


  • WHYY thanks our sponsors — become a WHYY sponsor

First Lady Michelle Obama
Senator Bernie Sanders
DREAMer Astrid Silva


President Bill Clinton
Gwen Carr, mother of Eric Garner
Sybrina Fulton, mother of Trayvon Martin
Maria Hamilton, mother of Dontré Hamilton
Lucia McBath, mother of Jordan Davis
Lezley McSpadden, mother of Michael Brown
Cleopatra Pendleton-Cowley, mother of Hadiya Pendleton
Geneva Reed-Veal, mother of Sandra Bland

As of now, there is no plan to hear from the families of fallen law enforcement officers, which has drawn the condemnation of the Philadelphia police union leadership.


President Barack Obama
Vice President Joe Biden


Hillary Clinton
Chelsea Clinton


In addition to the heavy hitters listed above, the following speakers will also have at least a moment or two at the podium.

Gov. Tom Wolf (Pennsylvania)
U.S. Rep. Bob Brady (Pennsylvania)
U.S. Rep. Brendan Boyle (Pennsylvania)
Sen. Bob Casey (Pennsylvania)
Sen. Cory Booker (New Jersey)
Philadelphia Mayor Jim Kenney
New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio
Gov. Andrew Cuomo (New York)
Sen. Tim Kaine (Virginia)
Former Gov. Howard Dean (Vermont)
Sen. Al Franken (Minnesota)
Sen. Elizabeth Warren (Massachusetts)
Former U.S. Rep. Gabby Giffords & Captain Mark Kelly (Arizona)
Senate Democratic Leader Harry Reid (Nevada)
House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi and the Democratic Women of the House
Sen. Chuck Schumer (New York)
Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand (New York)
U.S. Rep. Raumesh Akbari (Tennessee)
U.S. Rep. Joyce Beatty (Ohio)
U.S. Rep. Xavier Becerra (California)
Columbia, S.C., Mayor Steve Benjamin
Sen. Barbara Boxer (California)
Gov. Jerry Brown (California)
Sen. Sherrod Brown (Ohio)
U.S. Rep. Joaquin Castro (Texas)
U.S. Rep. James Clyburn (South Carolina)
U.S. Rep. Joseph Crowley (New York)
Gov. Mark Dayton (Minnesota)
Detroit Mayor Mike Duggan
Colorado State House Majority Leader Crisanta Duran
U.S. Rep. Michelle Lujan Grisham (New Mexico)
Chillicothe, Ohio, Mayor Luke Feeney
Minnesota State Rep. Peggy Flanagan
U.S. Rep. Ruben Gallego (Arizona)
Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti
Tallahassee, Florida, Mayor Andrew Gillum
Former Gov. Jennifer Granholm (Michigan)
U.S. Rep. Luis Gutierrez (Illinois)
Former Sen. Tom Harkin (Iowa)
South Carolina Democratic Party Chair Jaime Harrison
Gov. John Hickenlooper (Colorado)
U.S. Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (Texas)
Nevada State Sen. Ruben Kihuen
Sen. Amy Klobuchar (Minnesota)
U.S. Rep. Ted Lieu (California)
U.S. Rep. Nita Lowey (New York)
Kentucky Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes
Gov. Terry McAuliffe (Virginia)
U.S. Rep. Gwen Moore (Wisconsin)
Sen. Chris Murphy (Connecticut)
Lt. Gov. Gavin Newsom (California)
U.S. Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton (Washington, DC)
Former Gov. Martin O’Malley (Maryland)
Atlanta Mayor Kasim Reed
U.S. Rep. Adam Schiff (California)
Former South Carolina State Rep. Bakari Sellers
Sen. Jeanne Shaheen (New Hampshire)
Nevada State Sen. Pat Spearman
Former Los Angeles Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa
Boston Mayor Marty Walsh
South Carolina Maxine Waters (California)
Flint, Michigan, Mayor Karen Weaver
Congressman Keith Ellison (Minnesota)

National Education Association President Lily Eskelsen Garcia

Congressman Raul Grijalva (Arizona)

Senate Majority Leader Mike Gronstal (Iowa) and candidates of the Democratic Legislative Campaign Committee

SEIU President Mary Kay Henry

Congressman Joe Kennedy (Massachusetts)

Chair of the Democratic Governors Association Connecticut Governor Dan Malloy

Building Trades President Sean McGarvey

U.S. Senator Jeff Merkley (Oregon)

Congresswoman Linda Sanchez (California) and members of the Congressional Hispanic Caucus

AFSCME President Lee Saunders

AFL-CIO President Richard Trumka

American Federation of Teachers President Randi Weingarten

Democratic National Committee Vice Chair of Voter Registration and Participation Donna Brazile

Former State Senator Jason Carter (Georgia)

Planned Parenthood Action Fund President Cecile Richards

Congressman GK Butterfield and members of the Congressional Black Caucus

Congresswoman Judy Chu (California) and members of the Congressional Asian Pacific American Caucus

NARAL President Ilyse Hogue
Rear Admiral John Hutson (Ret. USN)

Civil Rights leader Jesse Jackson

Congressman Ben Ray Lujan and candidates of the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee

Former Congressman and Secretary of Defense Leon Panetta

Former Philadelphia Police Commissioner Charles Ramsey

EMILY’s List President Stephanie Schriock

Center for American Progress Action Fund President Neera Tanden

General John Allen (ret. USMC), former Commander, International Security Assistance Forces, and Commander, United States Forces – Afghanistan

Candidates of the Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee

President of the Human Rights Campaign Chad Griffin

League of Conservation Voters President Gene Karpinski

Co-Chair of the Congressional LGBT Equality Caucus Congressman Sean Patrick Maloney (New York) and LGBT rights activist Sarah McBride

U.S. Senator Barbara Mikulski (Maryland) and the Democratic Women of the Senate

WHYY is your source for fact-based, in-depth journalism and information. As a nonprofit organization, we rely on financial support from readers like you. Please give today.

Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal