Ten East Coast states formalize electric vehicle partnership

    Ten East Coast states and the District of Columbia have formalized their agreement to promote the use of electric vehicles, and will receive $1 million in federal funding for the first project.

    Delaware, Connecticut, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont and D.C. have established the partnership is a commitment to “boosting economic growth, maintaining the region’s leadership role in the clean energy economy and reducing greenhouse gas emissions and dependence on oil by planning transportation infrastructure to support vehicles using fuel sources such as electric, biofuels and natural gas.”

    Through the partnerships, forged by the Transportation and Climate Initiative, states will encourage the use of electric vehicles by identifying obstacles, making charging stations available and working out zoning issues.

    Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

    Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal