South Jersey counties to receive cost-sharing aid from FEMA

    The Federal Emergency Management Agency has deemed New Jersey’s Salem, Cumberland, Atlantic and Cape May counties eligible for cost-sharing disaster relief in the wake of Hurricane Irene.

    County tours this week led to federal approval for storm assistance, though municipalities will have to apply for road and infrastructure repair.

    Cost-sharing relief means FEMA will cover 75 percent of public property repair costs and the other 25 will come from state, county and municipal funding. There is no ceiling for FEMA’s share of the costs, the News of Cumberland County reports.

    The county has not estimated its overall damage yet, though Salem County’s preliminary report revealed a figure of $9.5 million.

    Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

    Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal