N.J. Assembly approves Caylee’s Law to help with missing child reports

    The New Jersey Assembly has approved legislation to create “Caylee’s Law.” That’s the name given to the bill inspired by the Florida toddler who was found dead after her family failed to report her missing for a month.

    The bill would criminalize the failure to report a child’s disappearance within 24 hours. Violators of the law could face as much as 18 months in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.

    According to the Gloucester County Times, the Assembly unanimously approved the measure and advanced it to the Senate.

     

    Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

    It will take 126,000 members this year for great news and programs to thrive. Help us get to 100% of the goal.