State Police have begun a program to reduce the frequency of false alarms in Delaware.
Businesses and residents as of May 17th are required to register their alarm systems. Police say false alarms divert law enforcement resources from routine patrols and sometimes from other emergencies or crimes in progress. In jurisdictions covered by Delaware State Police, the first three instances of a false alarm do not incur a fine. For the fourth false alarm a $50 civil penalty will be assessed. Fines rise to $75, $100 and $250 for subsequent false alarms within a calendar year. State Police are working with a vendor known as Cry Wolf to facilitate registration of alarm systems. Cry Wolf can also be reached at 877-665-2927.