New Jersey community college limits access to other colleges

A community college in New Jersey is limiting four-year schools on-campus contact with its students.

Rowan College at Burlington County is seeking to maximize its “3+1” program with Rowan University, which allows students to earn a bachelor’s degree while staying on the community college’s Mount Laurel campus.

The Philadelphia Inquirer reports the two-year school has told Rutgers, Temple and other four-year schools Rowan is “the only college permitted to advertise, display logos or distribute collateral on common grounds.” The schools also are prohibited from hosting transfer fairs.

RCBC President Paul Drayton tells the newspaper it doesn’t make sense to do transfer fairs because those schools are competing with Rowan. Materials from other schools will still be available in the transfer office and online.

Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

Help us get to 100% of our membership goal to support the reporters covering our region, the producers bringing you great local programs and the educators who teach all our children.