On Stage at Curtis

Student Recital: Godefroid, Bach, Marescotti, Fauré, Mendelssohn

The program begins with harpist Abigail Kent. She describes her pieces as, “showing different sides of the harp”. Followed by Sydney Lee and Linzi Pan performing a Mendelssohn sonata.

Félix Godefroid: Étude de concert in E-flat minor, Op. 193
Abigail Kent, harp

Félix Godefroid was a Belgian harpist/composer who composed for the harp. Étude de concert in E-flat minor, Op. 193 is known for having a simple finger pattern called cross fingering.

Bach: Suite in E minor for Lute, BWV 996, transcribed to E-flat minor by Marie-Claire Jamet
Abigail Kent, harp

Bach’s Suite in E minor for Lute, BWV 996 was originally written for the Lute but was later transcribed for the harp by French harpist Marie-Claire Jamet. The movements are Prélude; Allemande; Courante; Sarabande; Bourée and Gigue

André-François Marescotti: Mouvement
Abigail Kent, harp

This contemporary piece written in 1977 is very unique and is not necessary associate with the harp.

Gabriel Fauré: Impromptu in D-flat major, Op. 86
Abigail Kent, harp

French composer Gabriel Fauré wrote this harp piece for a competition at the Paris Conservatoire in 1904. Impromptu in D-flat major, Op. 86 is a standard of the harp repertoire. Abigail describes it as “romantic with very lush cords.”

Mendelssohn: Sonata No. 2 in D major, Op. 58
Sydney Lee, cello; Linzi Pan, piano

Composed in 1843, this sonata has four movements: Allegro assai vivace; Allegretto scherzando; Adagio and Molto allegro e vivace. Sydney says that each movement has its own character but the “third movement really requires an emotional connection.”

Share this story: