On Stage at Curtis

Graduation Recital by Pianist Xiaohui Yang

A graduation recital by pianist Xiaohui Yang. Xiaohui is a native of Chaoyang, China, and entered Curtis in 2008 for studies with Ignat Solzhenitsyn. Her program:

Beethoven: Piano Sonata No.28 in A major
The Beethoven Piano Sonatas Nos.28 through 32 are widely considered to be among the most profound works by any composer in this form. Beethoven composed this sonata in 1816, and dedicated it to Baroness Dorothea Ertmann. Beethoven described this sonata as a series of impressions and memories. No doubt, his deafness which by now was profound, drove the composer into a more internal world of such reveries. The sonata is in the standard four movements, and runs about 20 minutes in length.

Schumann: Kreisleriana, Op.16
This eight-movement fantasy dates from 1838, and is dedicated to Fredric Chopin. The title is inspired by Johannes Kreisler, a character from the works of E.T.A. Hoffmann. Kreisler’s kaleidoscopic personality was a perfect fit for the manic-depressive Schumann; each movement of the suite moves from the impetuous to the dreamy, in the manner of the composer’s self-described inner personalities of Florestan and Eusebius. The result is one of Schumann s finest and most imaginative works.

Music Word of the Week: Fantasia
“A title often given to pieces of no fixed form, implying that a composer wishes to follow the dictates of his or her freely ranging imagination.”
(from The Oxford Companion to Music)

Share this story:

Share a comment:

Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow WHYY's terms of service; WHYY reserves the right to remove any inappropriate comments. See also WHYY's privacy policy.

Comments are closed.